Broadcasting careers begin


Five graduating students from Edith Cowan University’s Graduate Diploma of Broadcasting are off to Sydney next year to kick off their broadcasting careers.

Rebecca ‘Bubble’ Maynard, Natasha Tunney, Zeta Morgan, Luke Shipway and Madison Snow have all won awards that include three months paid work in the television industry.

Bubble, Natasha and Zeta are the 2017 winners of the Seven Productions Award. The prize is $2,000 and a three month paid internship in the production department at the Seven Network’s headquarters in Sydney.

Madison has been honoured with the ABC News 24 Paul Lockyer Memorial Prize. She will also receive $2,000 and jet off to Sydney early next year to begin a paid internship with ABC News 24.

And Luke is the winner of the Fox Sports News Award for Television Sports ReportingLuke will move to Sydney with $2,000 in his pocket and ready to start three months paid work at Fox Sports News headquarters.

The Seven Productions Award and ABC News 24 Paul Lockyer Memorial Prize were established in 2011, while Fox Sports News came on board in 2013.

Two more students have also been honoured with paid internship prizes. James ‘Jimmy’ Williamswon the 2017 6PR George Grjlusich Sports Broadcasting Award.He receives $1,000 and six months work in the sports department of Radio 6PR in time for the footy season.

And Mia Egerton-Warburton won $1,000 and four weeks paid work as the winner of the WAtoday Award for Video Journalism.

“We are so grateful that the broadcast industry supports our course and our students,” said ECU Broadcasting Course Coordinator Jo McManus. “They have already kick-started many careers.”

Seven Network Director of Production, Brad Lyons, said he’s passionate about discovering new talent.

“These ECU graduates are always so keen and job-ready,” he said. “It’s been an outstanding program, with many previous winners staying within the Seven Network family.”

ECU Broadcasting’s internship program was established in 2007 with the Radio 6PR Award.

Other industry-sponsored prizes for ECU Graduate Diploma of Broadcasting students are:

  • The Commercial Radio Australia Award for most potential in commercial radio: $2,000 cash.
    • 2017 winner: Hannah Somerville
  • The Channel 7 Award for greatest potential in commercial television. $1,500.
    • 2017 winner: Kate Lambe - $700
    • Runners-up: Jimmy Williams - $400, Lucy McLeod - $200, Jarryd Gardner - $200

If you’re interested in studying a Graduate Diploma of Broadcasting, visit our Communications and Arts web page.

Here you’ll find information about this and related courses, including videos and galleries about our facilities, our students and our lecturers.