Broadcasting careers begin


Five graduating students from ECU’s Graduate Diploma of Broadcasting are off to Sydney next year to kick off their broadcasting careers.

Kally Borg, Braedie Marsh, Emily Lefroy, Tanya Phillips and Abbey Gelmi have all won awards that include three months paid work in the television industry.

Kally, Braedie and Emily are the 2014 winners of the Seven Productions Award. The prize is $2,000 cash and a three-month paid internship in the production department at the Seven Network’s headquarters in Sydney.

Tanya has been honoured with the ABC News 24 Paul Lockyer Memorial Prize. She will also receive $2,000 and jet off to Sydney early next year to begin a paid internship with ABC News 24.

And Abbey is the winner of the Fox Sports News Award for Television Sports Reporting.Abbey will move to Sydney with $2,000 in her pocket and ready to start three months paid work at Fox Sports News headquarters.

The Seven Productions Award and ABC News 24 Paul Lockyer Memorial Prize were established in 2011, while Fox Sports News came on board last year.

Two more students have also been honoured with paid internship prizes. Michael Stamp won the 2014 6PR George Grjlusich Sports Broadcasting Award. He receives $1,000 and six months work in the sports department of Radio 6PR in time for the footy season.

And Laura Shackwins $1,000 and four weeks paid work as the winner of the WAtoday Award for Video Journalism.

 “These awards are like gold,” said course coordinator, Jo McManus. “We are so grateful that the broadcast industry supports our course and our students.

“Channel 7 has supported us for years, Radio 6PR is amazing and now we have Fox Sports, ABC News 24 and It’s fantastic!”

ECU Broadcasting’s internship program was established in 2007 with the Radio 6PR Award.

Other industry-sponsored prizes for ECU Graduate Diploma of Broadcasting students are:

The Commercial Radio Australia Award for most potential in commercial radio: $2,000 cash.

2014 winner: Eleanor Chaney

The Channel 7 Award for greatest potential in commercial television. $1,500:

2014 winner: Tasha Tania $750

Runners-up: Eleanor Chaney $250, Tanya Phillips $250, Clare Todhunter $250

If you’re interested in studying Broadcasting, visit our Communications and Arts web page.

Here you’ll find information about this and related courses, including videos and galleries about our facilities, our students and our lecturers.